Pawshake logo
Rachael

Experienced Dog Care

Cambridge
15 times favorited
1 recurring guest
Last booked 5 days ago
Last contacted 2 days ago
Usually responds within one hour
2m ago
Last activity
<1h
Response time
100%
Response rate
Dog boarding
24h stay, at sitter's home
20 GBP for each additional pet
30 GBP
/night
All services and rates

About Rachael

About me: I am an experienced dog owner and dog-sitter and have also fostered six different rescue dogs before they found their forever homes. I have experience with a range of breeds from large to small and puppies to seniors. I also used to own cats, guinea-pigs and rabbits and can also care for these animals if needed.

Expertise: I am experienced in helping rescue dogs overcome various issues using force-free, positive reinforcement training techniques so I am happy to walk and care for reactive/anxious dogs and can continue the training you are working on for this. Equally I have walked and cared for many dogs who just want to go out and run, play and get a good sniff. I love getting to know animals and I love working with them to take on the world at their pace. While I am not a certified dog trainer, I am currently enrolled in the Canine Principles Skill Hub (CPD-certified qualifications below) to improve my understanding of dogs and dog training.

Motivation: I am passionate about dogs and this is a great way to meet more lovely animals and help them feel safe while you are away. Having fostered several dogs, I know how it can feel to be worrying about your pet when you are away from home.

Boarding/daycare: I would love to care for your dog while you are away - whether that involves play, treats, walks, trick training, cuddles or whatever else your lovely pet needs. I usually walk your dogs once, twice or thrice a day during daycare or boarding depending on what they need. I send regular photos and updates when I am caring for your dog so that you know they are safe and having fun. I will follow your lead and the dog's body language to understand what is needed to keep them feeling fulfilled and safe. I will only host one dog at a time in my home, or up to three dogs together if they are part of a multi-dog household and already know each other. I have lickimats, kongs, balls, puzzle toys and chew toys in my home and the dog will get lots of attention and fun as well as lots of time for rest and relaxation which all dogs need.

Walks: I can walk dogs from half an hour to two hours and will just walk one dog at a time, or up to three small dogs if they are part of a multi-dog household. I can include some time to enjoy training during walks, just let me know what you are working on or what you would love your dog to learn (EG loose leash walking, sit and stay, trick training, recall etc.)

Timing: I am currently a student so can be very flexible on time. I will never leave your dog alone during daycare - especially if they have separation anxiety. During boarding or house-sits, I will never leave your dog alone for more than three hours (if at all) and we can discuss this in more detail if it is a concern.

About our home: I live with my partner in a small house with a garden. We have no other pets in our home and I only host one dog at a time (or two dogs if part of a multi-dog household). I have a baby-gate separating the kitchen from the rest of the house, which is ideal to create a safe, clean space for puppies. Where your dog sleeps depends on your dog - we have space in the kitchen as well as the living room and the spare bedroom and I have comfy dog beds and an XXL crate (where the door is always left open) depending on what your pet prefers. Our back garden is small but fully secure and I have passed home checks with dog rescues to verify this. The fences are over six feet tall, the gate to next door's garden is safe and secure and there are no narrow escape routes for small dogs either.

CPD-certified qualifications attained through Canine Principles Skill Hub:

- Good Guardianship

- Canine Communication

- Canine Calmness

- Canine Enrichment

- Solving Separation Related Problems (by Emma Judson)

- Fearful Dog Rebahilitation

- Canine Fear Course (10 hours CPD)

- Inspiring Resilience in Fearful & Reactive Dogs (15 hours CPD)

- Dog Reactivity Workshop

- Canine Anxiety Certificate (50 hours CPD)

- Canine Bonding and Play

- Canine Interactive Play (by Craig Ogilvie)

- Foundations of Clicker Training

- Mechanics of Marker Training (by Alasdair Bunyan)

- Canine Functional Characters (with Dr Isla Fishburn)

- Canine Compulsive Disorder

- Desensitization and counter-conditioning

- Canine Resource Guarding

- Settling through Scentwork - for Highly Aroused Dogs

- History of the Dog & Human Bond (10 hours CPD)

- Tellington TTouch for Calming

- The Science of Teaching Dogs

- Canine Coaching Foundations

- Rock Solid Recall (by Simone Mueller)

- What we can learn about dogs from wolves (by Simone Mueller)

- Puppy Socialisation

- Senior Dog Care course (50 hours CPD)

- Dogs and Children course (50 hours CPD)

Rachael's services

At the sitter's home

Dog boarding
Overnight stay at the sitter's home
20 GBP for each additional pet
30 GBP
/night
Doggy Day Care
Daytime care for your dog at the sitter's home.
15 GBP for each additional pet
22 GBP
/day

At your home

Dog Walking
An experienced dog walker will pick up your dog from your home for a 30 min walk
8 GBP for each additional pet
12 GBP
/walk
One home visit a day
Book a pet sitter to stop by your home to feed and play with your pet
10 GBP
/day
Two home visits a day
Two drop-in visits for your pet
16 GBP
/day
House Sitting
A sitter stays overnight in your home and cares for your pet
30 GBP
/night

Rachael also offers

Dog training

Cancellation policy: Flexible

Full refund if cancelled before noon one day before the booking, 50% refund afterwards

Reviews

starstarstarstarstar
Communication
starstarstarstarstar
Conscientious
starstarstarstarstar
Profile accuracy
starstarstarstarstar
Treatment of animals
starstarstarstarstar
Value
starstarstarstarstar
House Sitting
Maria, 2021-10-05

Rachael was very nice and patient with our animal reactive dog. She kept up us updated daily and was very easy to reach. Will definitely use her services again.

starstarstarstarstar
Dog boarding
Bess, 2021-10-05

Rachael is awesome! She took amazing care of our boy whilst we were away and sent regular updates and videos every day to show what they had gotten up to (including long walks in beautiful countryside near her home, sensory treat games to keep him stimulated and her cutely reading him a book!) and we could see just how happy and settled he was in her care. I honestly can’t speak highly enough of Rachael and wouldn’t hesitate to book her again... she’s fab!👌

1
2
3
4
5
next page

Availability

About Rachael's Home

Accepted pets

Puppies
< 1 year
Dog sizes
0-80 kg
Dog ages
0-20 years
Dog sex
Female & Male
Cats
all kinds

Rachael's home

A small outdoor area
Has no kids
24/7 supervision
A fully fenced backyard

Skills

Specific Skills

I speak English & French
+5 years of experience
Familiar with dog training techniques
Can take care of exotic animals

Trick training and reactive dog training using all force-free, positive reinforcement methods. Dog walking with a variety of dogs from working at a shelter for several years as well as at an urban farm.

Experience with

Animal welfare as a volunteer
Rescuing pets
Behavioural problems

Stats

Facebook
Verified
SMS
Verified
Email
Verified
Rachael

Rachael

Experienced Dog Care

Cambridge
Dog boarding
24h stay, at sitter's home
20 GBP for each additional pet
30 GBP
/night
All services and rates
Contact Rachael

Cancellation policy: Flexible

Full refund if cancelled before noon one day before the booking, 50% refund afterwards

Book via Pawshake to enjoy The Pawshake Guarantee, in-house customer support, booking guarantee, safe cashless payments, no booking fees, no change fees, daily updates and more!

Contact Rachael